In CHANGE lies the power of opportunity- Let us revel in it! Let us create and eliminate the threat!

change

I believe that a challenge is a call to change. We must change ourselves to change circumstances and those of others for a positive. Thus every   challenge is an opportunity. I have been given an opportunity in the form of a threat and I am lucky that with my perfect vision I can see it for what it really is! ( Those who know me are aware of my lack of visual acuity! In college my Phi Kappa Theta brothers named me Mr. Magoo. Pero tengo ojos en el alma que sienten!)

I see that I have strengths that others may not have, I have friends, family, colleagues and supporters when others may not be as lucky. I have the opportunity to be a voice for those who may not be able to speak on their own or whose voice may not be heard because of circumstance.  At the moment people are organizing events to help me raise the needed monies for treatment. I am grateful for that. The bible tell us that to, “Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.” With confidence in these words I would like to ask something from you. I want us to walk in solidarity to start a medical fund that will help others who may be affected by illness and who may not have the means, the network, the skills , the time or the voice that we have.  I envision that this fund will live eternal for those who are affected by illnesses so that it may serve as a beacon of hope and a reminder to change their lives and see the threat as an opportunity to do something bigger that is beyond themselves . Civil Rights leader Cesar Chavez said , “We cannot seek achievement for ourselves and forget about progress and prosperity for our community…Our ambitions must be broad enough to include the aspirations and needs of others, for their sakes and for our own.”  Many have offered to do help me take on this challenge. Many have asked what they can do. I ask you know, this is our time to step forth as leaders and to do something for ourselves and for others.  At first this fund will be used to help me fight this illness but after I heal, this fund will continue for others.

I spoke earlier about having a passion. I ask each of you to seek what your passions are and to use them as a conduit to help us achieve the dream of establishing this fund. We can all do something, This is what you can do.

No matter where you are (From Coast to Coast, YES! I have a wide network of friends!)

Take something you enjoy doing and step out as a leader and organize a fundraiser.  I have friends who are thinking of organizing a benefit bbq, a benefit poker game, a 5k, a benefit karaoke night, a benefit paintball tournament, a benefit dance, a zumbathon, a benefit baseball and basketball game, a golf game, or rummage sale, an mma fight night. The amount raised doesn’t matter, what matters is that we have answered the call to action for others.  I will offer my help by guiding you through logistics, writing letters, and putting to use my skills as a community developer. Together we will tell our stories. Remember that this will be a commitment that you do every year as your personal service to a greater cause. The event doesn’t not have to raise lots of money or be super professional, rather this is a call to action to give of our hearts.   Mother Teresa of Calcutta wrote, “Not all of us can do great things. But we can do small things with great love.” That is what I ask of us today to do small things with great love and together we will make a positive change for many.

If you are ready to step out as a leader for the cause and to help us feel free to contact me and we can chat and strategize. I offer an example, my 15 year old cousin is a talented artist who offered to do a series of drawings that will weave the story of the challenge and hope and rebirth after this battle. He is taking action and stepping forth as a leader, and I hope it leads to a bigger realization for him and for those he loves.

So I am asking today will you join me in this opportunity? Will you be an agent of change ? Will you lead today for the sake of others?

Will you, ” Give expecting nothing thereof” ?

 

If you want to be part of this change I can be reached by email at martindelacruzmedina@yahoo.com

I do not know where this road will lead, but I know that we have started, Caminantes si no hay camino vamos abriendo brecha!

Juntos somos FUERTES, Juntos LUCHAMOS, Juntos SI SE PUEDE!

 

Standard

2 thoughts on “In CHANGE lies the power of opportunity- Let us revel in it! Let us create and eliminate the threat!

  1. Steve Barbier says:

    Hi Martin, just wanted to let you know we are thinking about you. I have been in Texas 3 times in the last 3 weeks and am reminded each time of the need and opportunity for change that you represent. This is a great blog and I hope you are doing well.

Leave a comment